When applying to a three year-old preschool program at DPS, it is crucial that you submit a complete application, which includes the application, proof of birth, proof of address, immunization records, and Child’s Statement of Health Status. Submitting a complete application with the required additional documentation will ensure that your application is processed quickly.
For information on the application timeline and process, see Applying to DPS.
Please note: Your child is not guaranteed a three-year old preschool spot at DPS. Spots are awarded during Round 1 via the lottery process and on a first-come, first-served basis during Round 2.
Tips on How to Submit a Complete Application
See below for tips on how to complete your application during Round 1 and Round 2.
Required Additional Documentation
The following documentation is required to complete your child’s application during Round 1 and Round 2:
Proof of Birth
Please bring an original of one of the following to the school:
- Birth certificate
- Baptismal record
- Hospital record — Must include an official signature (nurse, doctor, hospital registrar).
Proof of Address
The proof of address must match the child’s primary address and be in the name of a parent/guardian. Please bring an original of one of the following to the school:
- Current lease
- Mortgage statement — Must be dated within six months of the application date. Please make sure the words “service address” or “property address” are included on the statement.
- Bill (Comcast, Xcel, Denver Water or Directv) — Must be dated within six months of the application date. Please make sure the words “service address” or “property address” are included on this bill.
- Current property tax statement
*** If you are renting or your family lives in a home owned by a different person, the landlord/home owner must submit a letter, along with a copy of the required documentation covered above, confirming that you and your family reside at their address.
Colorado law requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases unless a medical or non-medical exemption is filed. For more information about vaccine requirements, resources and exemptions, please visit the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment’s School Immunization page.
Child’s Statement of Health Status for Enrollment
The Child’s Statement of Health Status must be turned in to the school with the application or within 30 days from the start of school. The Child’s Statement of Health Status for Enrollment must be signed by a licensed physician or licensed nurse practitioner who has seen the child in the last 12 months.
If you have any questions, please call the Office of Choice and Enrollment Services at 720.423.3493.